Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Bullet Making

Old 05-11-2013, 06:37 PM

Default subsonic swaged bullets

I'm interested in producing some bullets for subsonic use.

i was thinking something like this:

http://www.corbins.com/subsonic.htm

Anyone hear have any experience with something similar?

I'm a swage noob looking to avoid driving into the potholes.

308 and 510 bullets are my intentions

I appreciate any input

Last edited by ohnomrbillk; 05-11-2013 at 06:40 PM.
Old 05-12-2013, 07:07 PM
Supporting Member

interesting link but not totally true, I was involved with a subsonic project with the army. the problem with what they are saying is the Geneva convention doesn't allow soft point or open tip bullets so be wary of whats said in advertising. what are you looking to do with these maybe I can give you some help...... george
Old 05-13-2013, 02:34 AM

I'm interested in a bullet that will stabilize in my barrel and also expand at subsonic velocities for hunting purposes.

Heaviest weight bullet that will stabilize is worth pursuing (at least in my mind). With the muzzle velocities of 1050 fps being a relative constant, only bullet diameter and bullet weight can be increased to offer more knockdown power.

Rate of twists are both 1 in 8". The 30 caliber will stabilize a 240 Sierra Match King with a Muzzle velocity of 1050fps. The 510 will stabilize any BMG projectile, Hornady Amax, etc at the same muzzle velocity of 1050 fps.
Old 05-13-2013, 06:16 PM
Supporting Member

if my memory is correct army used a 1-10 but only with 1.00 jkt. I made around a 145 gr. it was interesting parameters were subsonic 1-10 twist shot only out to 100 yds. into ballistic gelatin block, could not shed jacket or core and could not go through block. george
Old 05-13-2013, 06:26 PM

Default Well, O.K. Thought of "no jacket???"