Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Bullet Making

Old 02-19-2013, 12:06 AM

Default Steel & Carblde Steel Bullet Making Dies

I would like to start this Thread and comment later. Like to hear from Gerry M, George Ulrich, Al Nyhus, J. Valentine, Randy Robinett and others with info. This should be a good discussion.

Stephen Perry

Last edited by stephen perry 1; 02-19-2013 at 12:09 AM.
Old 02-19-2013, 09:55 AM

What's the specific subject ? I am a bit baffled as to what you are asking.
Old 02-19-2013, 11:32 AM

J. most bullet makers know one or the other. Thought those that had experience with both could explain the use of both. Items like construction, use of lube, cost, longevity, makers, and other stuff.

Stephen Perry
Old 02-19-2013, 11:50 AM

Again I'm new to all of this, but I have heard talk of Carbide bullet making dies. I would like to know the difference, I know there expensive and I doubt that I could ever afford a set but are they worth the extra expense? Will they last longer than steel dies (my dies where made in the 60's)? I just ordered a set of 20 cal dies, but what would I expect for cost if they where Carbide? Do they make a "better bullet" or more accurate bullet?

Oh ya one more thing when you get your finger in between the punch and the die and the handle falls, does it hurt as bad with Carbide? Just asking.

Bob
Old 02-21-2013, 12:58 AM
Supporting Member

Stephen, as you know I do carbide,not to say I have never made steel,i have to me it's not as cost effective.but I probably should try steel again now that I've refined the process for carbide.or maybe play with some of the hybred carbide tool steel mixes.well lets see where this goes. george
Old 02-21-2013, 01:29 AM