Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 05-15-2012, 04:10 PM

Question 20 VT - neck too small?

(yes, I'm a beginner) Background: last year I worked up a pretty accurate load for fire forming 221FireBall brass. (I liked the accuracy, but prairie dogs did not..)

So now, after getting "addicted" to the 20VT, and more brass prep, I'm working on a load for the fireformed brass. However, I've noticed that when removing the final loaded round from the press, that there's a very TINY amount of copper at the junction of the neck and the seated bullet. (neck IDs and ODs are chamfered)
Used .226 bushing for sizing (same as I did for working up the fire forming loads).
Is this cause for concern?
(During brass prep, nothing has been done to modify the neck wall thickness - ok, I was hoping to not get involved with "all that"! Stop laughing - i already admitted I'm new to this! It's my first "wildcat".. and I love it! But I'd like some guidence on this, if possible. Thanks!)
Old 05-15-2012, 04:46 PM

I used a Sinclair Expander die and 20 cal Mandrel to cure this problem. I put it in one of the stations on my Dillon so it doesn't take any extra time. I am not sure how much the shaved bullet affects accuracy, or if the mandrel aids in keeping a consistent neck tension.
Old 05-15-2012, 04:46 PM

First, a disclaimer. I have never made VT brass. There are several here that have made a LOT of it and I'm sure they will chime in.

If you do not have a VLD (Very Low Drag) inside chamfer tool, get one.

I bet you will be getting in to outside neck turning and annealing. Neither one is all that hard to learn/do.

I agree that shaving bullets when seating should NOT be ignored.
Old 05-15-2012, 04:51 PM
Supporting Member

Too much neck tension more than likely or the necks are rough at the mouth. Use a small drill powered socket with steel wool in it to smooth the necks out, it's better than chamfering as it doesn't weaken the mouth.