Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 01-15-2007, 12:09 AM

Default Fur Friendly .172 bullets?

Since it loooks like Berger will be discontinuing their 30gr LTB among other weights I was wondering what other 25-30gr bullets are out there that offer good BC (above .220) and excellent fur friendly performance at the 4000 fps plus range.

I can get Hornady bullets here in Canada but would like to know of others so that when I file paperwork to get bullets from the States I can get a couple of different brands to try out. I am aware of TK's Golds but that is about it.

What happened to the gentleman who was planning to make heavy .17 bullets in weights above 30 grains? Still in the RD stage?

What about the Nagel bullets?
Old 01-15-2007, 12:21 AM

I have no personal experience with it, but the guys on coyotegods.com have repeatedly recommended the Berger 25gr match bullet for fur friendliness on coyote-sized game. This is not the varmint match or formerly MEF bullet.
Old 01-15-2007, 01:13 AM

troy,

blaine eddy has killed over 3000 song dogs and 90% were shot with the Berger 25 gr Match bullet. if you're serious about putting up fur, the Berger 17/25 will suit your needs.

cb <*)))>{

www.raginblaze.com .... Cajun Seasoning with a SouthWest Flare
Old 01-15-2007, 02:35 AM

I have used mostly the 28 gr. calhoon and the 30 gr berger and the 30 gr. Gold on coyotes and all three are excellant fur bullets for coyotes. At the moument the 28 gr calhoons and the 30 gr bergers are not availiable, i still have some left but today i tried some of the 25 gr golds and the 28 gr Genco's to see if my guns like them. the Genco and the gold's work pretty well in my rifles, so i will be switching over to them. The 25 gr. bullets are ok but i feel that the 30 gr. is a much better bullet to use on coyotes. I wellbe getting some nagel bullets later this spring to test in my rifles.....
Old 01-15-2007, 05:19 AM
Supporting Member