Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Bullet Making

Old 06-28-2013, 06:02 PM

Default Really OT: Lyman 20 guage Slug Mold

Hey guys,
I know this is not small caliber by any means, but I figure you guys might shoot other stuff then just small cal. And if you can make tiny little bullets, I'm sure you can make large ones.
So I have everything for production of cast bullets, all pistol, and I just bought a lyman 20 guage slug mold, 350gr, its the one that looks like an air gun pellet.
I have no experience in casting. Years of experience in reloading, both shotgun, rifle and pistol.
Any of you guys make this slug before? any experience with loads, any advice? I'm going to use new chedite 3" hulls, fed 201s wad, SR4756 powder or blue dot which ever shoots best.
Some guys are using pure lead, with a tiny amount of tin, but no where near #2. Soft lead use to get expansion in the barrel for a good seal inside the wad. Small amount of tin lowers working temp, and flow through mold?
I will be using a 20 guage NEF single shot, rifled barrel. Looking for 75-125 yd accuracy. I've used hornady sst sabots with decent success. Not overly impressed with knock down power, have had a few with no blood trails, but deer never went more then 75 yds.
So far 5 deer, and one small bear. One deer was nearly 175-200lbs, and he went the furthest at 75 yds.
Any advice is well apreciated.
Old 06-28-2013, 06:19 PM
Supporting Member

I briefly cast some of those in 12ga. I used pure lead. Our county was thinking of going shotgun for deer so I thought I'd get a jump on them. I had a Mod 12 made into a slug gun and that thing kicked the snot out of me. Accuracy was only so-so. Dropped the project when our part of the county stay rifle. Even if it hadn't, on my ground, I'd been using my 30-06 shotgun.
Old 06-28-2013, 06:27 PM