Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-12-2017, 04:36 PM

Default Chargemaster 1500

Members, I ran across an idea that after talking to ray h, he suggested I post this. I've been using a RCBS Chargemaster 1500 for a few years now. It does okay for most of my stuff, but on some stick powders...not so good. I use H-4198 a lot for my 20 VT and 20 JI. It's always been a pain with throwing a lot of overweight charges with this unit. After reading about people using a shorten straw out of the dispenser tube to help with the problem, I saw a video of a guy using a 6BR case. I decided to measure the O.D. of the dispenser tube and try to find something better. I had a couple of fired 17 PPC cases laying around. I cut one of them about in the middle ...chamfered it inside and out. Worked nicely on the tube. I put a drop of crazy glue on the case to the tube...just to keep it in place. It worked amazingly well for the H-4198 powder. I powdered over (500) 20 JI cases recently with only three overweight charges. I'm guessing (SWAG) that the steeper shoulder of the cut-off 17 PPC case allows the powder to uniformly stack behind the shoulder and then dispense through the 17 caliber hole evenly. To start I checked weights every five charges, then ten charges, and finally a tray of fifty (with a different known accurate scale). I couldn't tell a 10/th of a gr difference. There is know doubt this method dispenses slower, but I didn't have to stop and constantly go back and and redo overweight charge throws. There is no guarantee this will work! It's just an idea. "If" someone decides to try this, I'd like to hear back if they had good (or bad) results. 410gauge

Last edited by 410gauge; 11-13-2017 at 04:37 AM.
Old 11-12-2017, 04:44 PM