Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 02-16-2019, 07:05 PM

Default 17 WSM - opinions, please

I'm wrestling with the idea of purchasing a .17 WSM. The wrestling involves (a) is the caliber worth messing with at all? (b) Is the Ruger, running north of $800 worth the money opposed to the Savage offerings which may or may not shoot well and are worth their weight in ugly? and (c) Would it probably be a better idea to stick with the .17 AH I already have (two, actually)?

I think I really want to be talked out of this.
Old 02-16-2019, 08:03 PM

If you do not reload it might be alright. At the same time you can not ever have too many guns.
Old 02-16-2019, 08:19 PM

My cousin had a 17WSM(Savage). Could NEVER get it to shoot better then 1.5" at 100 yards. He tossed the idea of it. I don't know anything about the Ruger offering. I am just getting into the 17AH and love the idea of it all around. And I can see myself getting more centerfire 17's before ever entertaining the 17WSM.
Old 02-16-2019, 08:24 PM

Default 17 WSM - opinions, please

Like many calibers, some are in love with it and like it over the 17hmr, etc. I have seen both in action and will stick with my hmr.
With you have the 17AH, unless you want a nice rimfire and not bother with reloading, I would just stick with them.
However it is always nice to add something new to the flock Bill K
Old 02-16-2019, 08:55 PM
Supporting Member

The early Savage Bmags were problematic. Get a HB SS with laminated stock and a K or later prefix and they shoot great. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and when I see the bitty groups my gun shoots, it is beautiful, and the best $400 I ever spent on a gun.
Old 02-16-2019, 08:57 PM
Supporting Member

It is nice to add to the flock. I have 3 HMR's and 3 WSM's. I do reload, but don't always want to have to. The .17 WSM is the king of the rimfire hill.
Old 02-16-2019, 09:13 PM