Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 07-13-2020, 07:03 PM
Supporting Member

Default Slickin' Up a CZ Hornet

I have my 1st 2 CZ Hornets, one is a stock American so far and the other is a K-Hornet in a B&C Varmint stock with a #5 Brux 1-12 SS barrel. I've never worked with CZ's before so don't know a whole lot about them. I did do a trigger job on the American which now has a nice 1 1/4 lb trigger, and will do the same to the custom rifle. I would appreciate any advice on slicking up the action/feeding. I am single loading and using a Calhoun single shot follower in both rifles. Feeding in the American (standard Hornet) isn't too bad, but in the K-Hornet it's pretty bad and it put a dent in the body of the case on the dummy round I tried in it. Looking at the boltface/extractor with a case installed it appears that there is some pretty strong pressure being put on the rim by the extractor. Any help with these rifles would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Joe
Old 07-13-2020, 08:39 PM

Just a thought but the single shot follower may be kicking the cartridge, due to the improved shoulder, to much and therefore the cartridge is not hitting the chamber mouth as it should, but the outside edge, hitting it and causing the damage.
Old 07-13-2020, 08:41 PM