Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 03-17-2017, 03:49 PM
Supporting Member

Default Is anybody shooting the 17 Winchester super Magnum?

I'm surprised that the ammo seems available in a lot of the local stores that sell ammo. I don't have a rifle for it but bought a box just to have something to think about in the future. I don't know how many rifles are available for the round other than the "B Mag". I was just wondering if the round was that much better than the 17 HMR.
Old 03-17-2017, 07:12 PM

Yep,
I have been shooting it for a few years now in a MGM 22" stainless bull contender rifle setup.

It blows the HMR out of the water.

In my opinion, the B-mags are JUNK. They may shoot now that savage fixed some issues and added a heavy barrel, but they still are JUNK>

That is why the round hasn't taken off and that is why you are seeing lots of ammo on the shelf.

FYI...........if you buy ammo in bulk online you can get it for $14 a box shipped or less if you do some shopping around............a year ago I bought several thousand for $12.40 a box (after including shipping charges)

Last edited by Screaminweasil; 03-17-2017 at 07:25 PM.
Old 03-17-2017, 07:17 PM
Banned

Default B mag

17 wsm kills the hmr an 22 mag! I get my ammo at Wally for 1479 a box! And my b mag shoots great great truck rifle ! It just need s little love! Now she out shoots everyyhing
Old 03-17-2017, 07:22 PM

200 yard target with a 100 yard sight in...............Just over 1" group

And another 200 yard target with 100 yard sight in............1.5" group

Last edited by Screaminweasil; 03-17-2017 at 07:28 PM.
Old 03-17-2017, 07:29 PM

100 yard 8 shot group............American Eagle 20gr
Old 03-17-2017, 07:36 PM

I've wanted to "LIKE" the Savage B mag..........just can't do it.