Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Big Game

Old 06-02-2013, 01:21 PM

Default Field Vehicles

Different parts of the Country. Is there one vehicle that does them all. Out West it's all about how many gallons and long the road is, I'm a field engineer so an 800 mile turn around trip happens, going on another one to Nevada in a few weeks.

What you guys in the Mid-West and back East use for short and long trips to the shooting areas.

Stephen Perry
Old 06-02-2013, 10:53 PM

Question

I use a modified Club Car electric Golf cart for prarrie dogs, but only cover 5 miles,on any day.Can't imagine anything that can go 800 miles.
Old 06-03-2013, 11:59 AM

States have some big and smaller rigs for hunting I've had a Suburban and a Ford Bronco the real one. Now I have a 94 GMC long bed 220000+ miles runs like a beast long as feed it.

Like to see what the Aussies and Zealanders drive around on their turnarounds, Seen a few look like Rhinos on wheels like in Africa. Ooye.

Stephen Perry
Old 06-03-2013, 12:41 PM

Stephen,

For me one of the best bargains is a late-model (1999-2007) Toyota Land Cruiser. I have two of these and am looking at another for my son. They are THE best 4-wheel drive vehicle and are waaaayy over-built.

I get 18 miles per gallon on highway driving and the comfort is plush. It is the best vehicle for all around performance. Others may beat its gas mileage, but that is its only short-coming. But, compared to all it can do, it is an amazing truck. It would sure make an 800 mile trip a comfortable one.

My 1999 "Elsie" is just as capable as a new $80K but only cost me $12K, with 160K miles (just broken-in).