Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-25-2018, 12:37 AM

Default Soot?

Asking the wise-

Loaded some reduced 327 fed mag with trailboss Rem 6 1/2 primers and 60gr xtp no crimp. Coming out of a Henry carbine.

The cases are very sooty. I still have room to up the charge and maybe get a seal but is it even a big deal at all in any way if I just deal with sooty cases as the load is very accurate.

I'm just asking for a bit of education on soot, lol. I know it is due to the brass not expanding properly in the chamber due to such reduced loading but I'm no expert and not sure if there are other reasons and if it is even that big of a deal other than dirty cases to clean there after?

Or can there be a remedy such as using magnum primers?
Old 10-25-2018, 12:57 AM
Supporting Member

Soot is usually from burnt powder getting back from the neck and probably caused when neck isn't expanding enough from the lower powder charge.
It's accurate so up the charge or live with it. Me? Live with it. Don't fix it if it ain't broke.
Old 10-25-2018, 01:07 AM

Its damn accurate, one hole groups at 25yds, like shooting a high quality air rifle but with soot, lol..

Seriously though, no real down side other than dirty cases?
Old 10-25-2018, 01:55 AM

Default Soot ?

I think the same, soot is from the light charge and Trailboss will do that. But if my loads are accurate for the ranges I want the light charges for, so what if the case is sooty.
I just ripe them off, prior to reloading and don't worry about it.
You might try a little heavier charge, if safe and see if that works better for you, but accuracy is always first. Bill K
Old 10-25-2018, 02:32 AM