Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 12-18-2009, 09:42 PM

Default Velocity ? 300 fps, does it really matter?

Hey guys. I know I'm new and probably asking annoying new guy ?'s. So here goes another.

Does 300 fps make much of a difference? If so, where does it show up in terminal performance and trajectory?

I read earlier the sticky about loads being safe in some rifles and not others. I am new to the world of .17 centrefires and am learning up on re-loading for them. I have found alot of the Hogdon loads from their website and found myself seeing starting loads usualy sit about 300 fps give or take from max loads. To my mind it begs the ?, does 300 fps make that big a deal?

25 gr. Berger match at 3800 fps vs. 4100fps. What are the gains going faster?
Old 12-18-2009, 10:25 PM
Supporting Member

If I might make a suggestion try going here and down loading "Point Blank", it's a free ballistics program and works quite well.

http://www.huntingnut.com/index.php?...=article&sid=3

Since I started using ballistics programs it's amazing how simple it is to load in your data, get the results and then change velocity only a hundred feet at a time and see exactly how much change there is. Often it is "much ado about nothing".
On the otherhand 300FPS might make a fairly significant difference but the program will tell you how far out that actually might happen. If that happens to be farther than you shoot it is again "much ado about nothing". Regardless it's always safety first even if a particular barrel and chamber doesn't get the number the book says or the individual thinks he wants/needs . Probably gonna need a chrono if ya don't have one already.
By the way, there are no dumb newbie questions. Every guy on this site was a newbie at some point, it'd be pretty boring if no one ever asked any questions and us old farts didn't get to show off our incredible knowledge . Little joke there Heh-Heh-Heh .