Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 02-12-2018, 04:29 PM
Supporting Member

Default Swiveling Portable Shooting Bench

Thinking about getting my own portable bench for PD shooting. Would appreciate recommendations/personal experiences. Thanks, Joe
Old 02-12-2018, 04:40 PM

I have been using one made by "Big Game Tree Stands' for about five years. Like it and two friends I have shot with have seen it and bought their own. The company has changed it's name since, but I still see the same table at Cabela's and Sportsman's for about $150.
Old 02-12-2018, 04:47 PM

The Big game rest works fantastic. I would like to get another UHMW washer for mine to make it swivel a little easier. The only thing bad about it, is the black vinyl cover. It gets really warm, really fast. It sets up in seconds, so it's really easy to drive from dogtown to dogtown and pull it out and start shooting. I bought mine on sale for under $100.
Old 02-12-2018, 04:51 PM

Joe, ten years ago I would have known exactly what to tell you (), but right now I'd say that the DOA bench is most likely one of the best ones out there. It is of much more robust construction than anything I've seen from the mail order houses, with the exception of Caldwell's version of my old design.

The original BR Pivot. The Caldwell version is almost identical, just not all alloy construction as my original Lite version below.

Good luck with the quest, and beware of ChiCom crap. The DOA bench is a veteran owned company (USMC).
Old 02-12-2018, 05:37 PM

The DOA bench is probably the best bench on a swivel (I'm looking too!). Aside from that, you can build your own fixed position bench quite easily. There are quite a number of youtube video's on different builds. Here is one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMIWFXJ-8R8. Most of the the benches at places like Cabela's don't seem very stable, but the DOA does. Keep us posted on what you decide. Burt