Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 11-27-2013, 02:24 AM

Default Remington 40XBR vs Cooper 21

If you had your choice for the same money which rifle would you buy and why? Looking for a rifle that is capable of 1/2 moa everytime out when the shooter does his part. I got spoiled with my Benchrest rifles several years back and now if a rifle isn't deadly accurate I am never happy. The trouble with the benchrest actions is it is very hard to find a varminter stock for one without spending more than I want to do. Remington stocks are plentiful and triggers are easy to change if desired. I have no experience with a Cooper except what I have seen in stores and some have very nice wood. Thanks for any suggestions. Tom
Old 11-27-2013, 07:48 AM
Supporting Member

Tom I've never owned a 40X but I know the Coopers are capable of 1/2" groups and better and I've seen a 40XBR in 223 used in a Benchrest match, it agged in the 3's.

I think either the Cooper of 40X would be capable of what you are looking for, and it would come back to personal preference and what is available.........Kiwi
Old 11-27-2013, 10:57 AM

Take an older 700, have Greg Tannel, Kevin Weaver, or any one of the competent builders here on Saubier, get a Pac-Nor, Lilja, Schilen or whatever custom barrel, a Jewel trigger, and you will have, more than likely and quarter inch rifle.....as I learned from Montdoug, do a zero freebore on it, and have the neck dimension no more than .002 larger than your loaded round. You will be very happy. 40x's are chambered to SAMMI specs which are pretty sloppy as they must tolerate any factory ammo that might be shoved into them....steve
Old 11-27-2013, 12:37 PM