Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-2016, 06:09 PM

Default Progressive loading 22 Hornet/ 17 Hornet.

Right now when I need some Hornet ammo for gopher hunting, I run out to the shop and load up 50-100 rounds and go shooting.

Works pretty good when you live in Montana and the Gopher patch is just down road. Things are about to change and I will selling the house and moving to Oklahoma. That means ab expedition to Montana once a year for gophers and prairie dogs. Bulk loading will become a necessity.

I already had a Dillon Machine (550) set up loading .223. Got that angle covered.

Has anyone every set up and ran a Dillon for 22 Hornet and/or 17 Hornet who would be willing to share their experience? Problems, warnings, tips, shortcuts?
Old 02-16-2016, 06:43 PM

I have been using my Dillon 550B for rifle rounds for roughly 20 years, and that includes four 22 Hornet rifles. I keep separate brass for each rifle, as I have found each rifle's chambers and neck sizes are different enough to make different separate brass worthwhile for accurate varmint work, like <0.5 MOA. I use only W-W Hornet brass that has been flash hole prepped and neck size only on a single stage press using a Hornady 22 Hornet NS die. I use a Hornady 22 Hornady seating die with a Micrometer stem for seating bullets.

After neck sizing, I then load the prepped and neck sized cases progressively on the Dillon using a slightly modified procedure. I do not size the brass on the Dillon 550B's first stage. I only seat a primer in the first position and then rotating the brass to the second positon, and the rest is the standard progressive operation.

There have been several threads over the years on Saubier for reloading choices brass, primers, powders and bullets for 22 Hornet. Find what your rifle likes, and enjoy it. Hope this helps.
Old 02-16-2016, 10:45 PM
Supporting Member