Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Bullet Making

Old 06-13-2008, 08:44 PM

Default Bigger Bore Stuff

I realize that this is a "small-bore" site, so it is reasonable that most of the converstation revolves around small bore interests. Nonetheless, there a few of us that are interested in something larger than .308", and I'm one. In fact, I'm not much interested in anything smaller than .375" (except .172"), at this point.

To that end, I am trying to get a realistic answer about the effort (force) necessary to swage .510" jacketed bullets, and specifically, the 'reasonableness' of doing it with a "reloading" press. I have a Lachmiller 100 that I intend to make into a dedicated bullet swage IF it is even remotely reasonable. Seems to me that a hydraulic press/jack (particularly an "air-over-hydraulic" jack) linked to the press would "resolve" any force issues, but I have no experience with this so I thought I'd ask here.

I have asked the question of both the Corbins, and frankly, based on other information I've received from them regarding matters about which I DO happen to have first-hand knowledge, I simply don't trust their answers. Before anybody gets their panties in a bunch, I'm NOT calling them liars. Rather, it is that they're answers are simply too 'convenient' and entirely too simple to be realistic... Except of course for those people that have to remember "righty-tighty, lefty loosey" after two or three night's sleep. It has been my experience that good answers come from asking people that aren't trying to sell me something, AND when a broad spectrum of opinions are offered. I would expect that here at Saubier's.