Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Bullet Making

Old 10-27-2007, 12:09 AM

Default Work Bench for Bullet Swaging

Hello all:

I'm new to bullet making. Actually, I've not yet made any. My father and I are putting together the tools to give bullet making a try. We're both going to be using modified RCBS Rock Chucker presses, with die sets made by Larry Blackmon to make our bullets. I'm sure we're going to have a ton of questions as we get started. I was very pleased when I found this forum.

While our dies are being made, we are going to build the work benches to support the presses. My question is this...How much force does the bench need to be able to withstand to make bullets in this style of press (or - how strong do we need to build the benches)? To start, we are only going to be using the presses to seat the cores and point-up the bullets (6MM and possibly 30 caliber later on). We're not going to be making our cores or our jackets. But I suppose it would be wise to make sure the bench can support these processes, in case we need to (or decide to) use the presses for these steps too.

Thanks

John
Old 10-27-2007, 11:18 PM
Supporting Member

john, i used 2x6,s for top and stiffeners around outside with 4x4 legs doesn't take much more force than resizing a large caliber cartridge.just make sure it's big enough i make quite a number of bullets and have used all the space on a 12 ft. long bench . george
Old 10-28-2007, 03:38 AM
Supporting Member

My bench is about 6' long and about 30" deep, and has 6 presses attached to it

I attached a ledger to the wall that I used joist hangers on to just built as a patio would be built off a house. (joist, rim joists and posts) The 4x4 post support the outboard end. I added shelf underneath and have 3 layers of 3/4" MDF for a top all glued together with contact adhesive. needless to say when me move the bench is staying.

Hope This helps
Michael
Old 10-28-2007, 06:41 PM