Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 11-14-2018, 03:30 AM

Default 20 Vartarg dies in Oz

Just trying to sort out some reloading dies for a 20 vartarg.
I have always used FL die sets and was kinda hoping to get one for the 20 vartarg but getting these things here in Oz can be a real PITA!
Redding make a bushing FL die. I have no experience with such dies. Obviously the bushing sizes the neck but apparently not all the way to the base of the neck????? So, can I use a redding FL die with desired bushing to form 221 fireball brass to chamber in the 20 Vartarg chamber before fire forming?
Thanks in advance.
C
Old 11-14-2018, 03:47 AM

I suggest you email AJ at Redding. You can access tech at Redding by using techline@redding-reloading.com. Put Attention AJ in the header.

He will respond. BTW, deer season opens Saturday and Redding employees are off for a week. They are kinda in touch with the needs of the employees there!
Old 11-14-2018, 11:13 AM

Default Welcome aboard pepperC......

Glad you found your way here to Saubiers
Many years ago I bought my 20VT die set from Todd Kindler at the Woodchuck Den.Todd has always been very helpful with all my small caliber projects in the past.Depending on your chamber you may want to get a separate fl sizer die to get the neck dimension perfect and perhaps bump the case back after a few firings.I would go the way Snert and Harold recommended and get the s type set from Redding to get started shooting.The 20 VarTarg is an awesome little round and you will always enjoy it,the money spent on good dies for it will long be forgotten but you will always appreciate good quality dies and the ammo they produce.
Matt

Last edited by 17VLD; 11-14-2018 at 11:16 AM.
Old 11-14-2018, 07:06 PM