Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 11-27-2023, 06:59 PM
Supporting Member

Default How old is too old reloaded ammo?

I know this is small bore site and I'm a small bore guy. Have a question though a I seem to read more wisdom posted on this site than many others. Maybe appears that way to me because more member my age Ha Ha

Question: I'm shooting a 300 RUM I had built, custom and by custom the smith built everything on the rifle except for the Lilja barrel. Action, trigger, magazines, scope bases etc. I also had a custom Leupold scope with reticle designed for specific ammo I developed. Built rifle in 2006 and loaded several identical round boxes of ammo. On a recent hunt someone saw the date I loaded the ammo and said anything past 10 years is unsafe due to excessive pressure. I've been shooting reloaded ammo since early 1960's and never had an issue. I'm thinking there may be a point that I loaded to achieve specific consistent performance and with aging that may no longer be the case. Curious your thoughts.
Old 11-27-2023, 09:08 PM

I have shot some 30-06 ammo that was loaded and has sat around for 20 odd years and saw no difference.
The only think you might do, in case the bullet has sorted of set/welded to the case, is just run it into a seating die and just touch it enough to see if there is resistance, then just seat it enough to break that hold.
Then try one and see how it works and you might as well shoot it at a target to see if the rifle/load still hit where you had it zeroed.
Old 11-27-2023, 10:14 PM

Unless you've left the reloads sitting on the truck's dashboard for the last 17 years straight in the Arizona sun, I don't think I'd worry about it. I tend to think of reloads like powder, store it properly and then use accordingly.
Old 11-27-2023, 11:03 PM