Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 10-30-2016, 12:04 AM

Send a message via MSN to 17rimfire
Default Thinking about a 20 cal

I've been considering the jump into a 20 cal for several years. I just can't decide on which one so I've never really made any progress. I've been thinking on a 204 ruger, 20 tac, 20 practical or a 20-223ai just because I have brass and a simple bushing change would get me there. I've researched a lot and it seems you could blanket them all in the performance area according to Google. I like the 204 case but brass seems scarce most times and I already have a lot of LC 223 brass sitting around. So my question is would there be any advantage of one over the other? And I guess simply what made you decide on which one? I've read a lot on the 20 practical and it seems appealing to me but I like the shape of the 20 tac. Anyway your input....Go.
Old 10-30-2016, 12:24 AM

Default Thinking about a 20 cal.

I have played with each and everyone of them. Still have the 204R and will keep one around. My 20 Tac I sold. My 20 Practical it just have re-chambered to the 20 Practical Ackley Improved (20-223AI with 40 Degree shoulder) it will do anything any one of the others does and very easy to form and reload for. Varget, H4198, H4895 seem to be working best for me, with the 32 and 39 grain bullets. You will enjoy any one of the 20 cal you mention. And I must add, I also have a 20 SCC, of which I just love, when I want just a slightly small case. Bill K
Old 10-30-2016, 03:33 AM

Default Tac 20

nothing wrong with the 204r if you want to burn more powder or don't reload, the tac 20 has been my favorite, easy to load for, lots of bullets to choose from, very good terminal performance
Old 10-30-2016, 01:12 PM
Supporting Member

I been wanting a 20-222. Have a CZ 527 in .222, just haven't gotten in sent off to Pac Nor. I have a .204 in a CZ, and an AR, but would like a little less muzzle blast.